G-Code Files

Connect with others using the same design software and get suggestions for the design program that might be right for you.
rdwesley
G-Code Files

Post by rdwesley » Sun Sep 30, 2018 6:26 pm

I am trying to use other software that creates G-Code Files (Scan2Cad), and can't seem to get the software to open a .cnc or .nc file. Anyone have any luck with any other software or file types? This program seems to work pretty well, but the GoFab Program will not recognize the file types, even though they are G-Code files.

Thanks,
Robert

Dave
Re: G-Code Files

Post by Dave » Sun Sep 30, 2018 10:22 pm

I just spent some time with Scan2CAD and went through some of the tutorials but couldn't get it to produce useful gcode of any kind. I'm new to it so I might be doing something wrong, but looking at the files it produced, it was adding a pierce point for every single line (literally hundreds of pierce points to cut out a simple outline). If you have a workflow you know works for plasma cutters, I can look into it more, but if you're just trying to vectorize images and export to gcode, I can show you how to do that with inkscape (which is free).

If you post the .nc file you're getting out of Scan2CAD I can look at it and see if it's doing the same thing my files were doing (hundreds of pierce points).

rdwesley

Post by rdwesley » Sun Sep 30, 2018 11:18 pm

Hi Dave, I spent a lot of time with Scan2Cad thinking it would be a great program, and have attached some of the output files, all which seem to check out in a g-code viewer CNC Discriminator, but the Gofab Software will not read it for some reason. I have attached an example file I created with Scan2Cad. Had to change the name of it to attach it.. Just delete the .jpg. Any help you could do in Inkscape would also be great. I have done a few files in inkscape, but it is so many steps, and I don't really know how to edit files in there either. Thanks for your help!

Dave

Post by Dave » Sun Sep 30, 2018 11:57 pm